Documentation › Snapshots

Snapshots

The Visual Editor contains a simple versioning system that you can use to save your work at certain points and then revert to any of those points later. These points are called snapshots.

Click Snapshots in the menu bar in either Grid Mode or Design Mode to work with snapshots.

In addition to snapshots that you create, Headway saves a snapshot when you click the Save button (but will not save a new snapshot more often than once every 15 minutes).

Saving a Snapshot

  1. Click Snapshots in the menu bar.
  2. Click the Save Snapshot button.
  3. Optional: Type a short description of the snapshot. It’s recommended that you do this so you can tell the difference between the snapshots that you’re going to accumulate over time. This is especially important if you want to try something daring like taking your layout or design in a couple of different directions and switching back and forth between them to compare.
  4. Click OK.

Deleting a Snapshot

You should be deleting snapshots regularly when they are not needed so they don’t build up.  If they build up to a high enough amount or size (database size), it can cause problems in the visual editor.

It is highly recommended that you take a backup before deleting a snapshot unless you are certain it is no longer needed.

  1. Hover over a snapshot and click the X that appears to delete a snapshot

headway-docs-delete-snapshot

Rolling Back to a Snapshot

  1. If you want to save your current work (just in case) before you jump back to an earlier point, follow the steps in “Saving a Snapshot.”
  2. Click Snapshots in the menu bar.
  3. Locate and mouse over the snapshot you want to use.
  4. Click the Rollback button.
  5. Click OK.

Turning Off Automatic Snapshots

If you don’t like having Headway save a snapshot automatically whenever you save:

  1. Download wp-config.php from your site files using FTP.
  2. Open the file in a text editor.
  3. Add the following line to your wp-config.php file (above the stop editing line)
    define('HEADWAY_DISABLE_AUTO_SNAPSHOT', true);
  4. Save the file.
  5. Upload the file back to your host’s server, letting this version overwrite the version on the server.

Deleting all Snapshots at once

It is very highly recommended that you take a backup before deleting all snapshots.

  1. Navigate to your WordPress Dashboard, then go to Headway » Tools
  2. Click on the Snapshots tab
  3. Click Delete All Snapshots
  4. You should see a pop-up message requiring you to confirm that you want to delete all Snapshots.

headway-docs-delete-all-snapshots

This article was added for Headway version 3.8.3

Copyright © 2016 Vesped Inc. All Rights Reserved. Proudly Powered by Headway and WordPress