Snapshots are a response to so many of our customers wanting a simple way to revert back to previous work without having to take a database backup and restore that. It also offers a way for you to test different things out: just take a snapshot of each and switch between to test out the differences.
How To Use Snapshots
First click the Snapshots link/button at the top of the Visual Editor. This is available in Grid and Design Modes.
To save a snapshot, click “Save snapshot”. To delete a snapshot, hover over the snapshot name, an X appears that allows you to delete a snapshot.
Things to Know
- The Visual Editor automatically saves a snapshot after every save to protect your work. It also automatically saves every 15 minutes but it only saves a maximum of one (1) snapshot in a 15 minute period.
- Automatic snapshots are saved with the date and time as the name and no description. Manual snapshots prompt you for a description so you can easily identify it.
- Once you provide a description of a snapshot, you cannot edit it (yet!). In the future, we’ll look at adding the ability to rename snapshots and edit the descriptions.
- Snapshots are not deleted automatically. You must do so manually.